Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous,bruncher, for Donating to support the site

JISA Charges

Stocks and Shares ISA , Choosing funds for ISA's, risk factors for funds etc
Investment strategy discussions not dealt with elsewhere.
Invest212

JISA Charges

Postby Invest212 » June 19th, 2024, 12:22 pm

Hello,

I am a UK resident and have £5,000 to invest initially in a JISA for my daughter, I will be paying £100 per month DD into the account and want this, along with the initial investment to go into a fund (not particularly hung up on a particular one at this stage). Can someone provide a few examples of the costs involved for a particular provider, its a little confusing with platform, management, investment , dealing charges to understand how I decide the least expensive platform. With a few examples I should be able to carry on and check for myself.

Thanks

DrFfybes
Lemon Quarter

Re: JISA Charges

Postby DrFfybes » June 19th, 2024, 1:40 pm

Hargreaves Lansdown scrapped all their fees for JISAs a few months ago.

https://www.hl.co.uk/investment-service ... nd-charges

We have several set up for our great nieces/nephews.

Paul

MuddyBoots
Lemon Slice

Postby MuddyBoots » June 19th, 2024, 1:49 pm

I use Fidelity for my child's JISA, and although they don't charge a service fee on JISAs and do pay interest on cash balances (currently 3.6%), each individual fund has its own charges. For example the Fidelity Index World Fund p acc has an ongoing charge of 0.12% and zero transaction cost. But other funds' fees vary a lot and if low fees is your goal then imo sticking with index trackers provided by the same fund manager as the platform is usually cheapest.

Invest212

Postby Invest212 » June 19th, 2024, 9:35 pm