Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to DrFfybes,smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous, for Donating to support the site

Harbourvest Global Private Equity (HVPE)

Closed-end funds and OEICs
perkr

Harbourvest Global Private Equity (HVPE)

Postby perkr » July 10th, 2017, 5:45 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking to diversify a portfolio which currently consists of:

1. HYP "outsourced" to the CTY IT as I don't have the time to manage such a thing right now.
2. Global equities and some private equality, currently I use FRCL for this. I have been thinking of replacing it with SWDA (cheap accumulating ETF tracking MSCI World).
3. High-tech, SMT.
4. Property, currently TRY.
5. Smaller companies UK, currently HSL.

All in roughly even proportions and within an ISA.

I'd like to get some private equity exposure for diversification purposes but I have no experience in this area. I have been looking at Harbourvest Global Private Equity (HVPE), is there anybody here who owns it or have any experiences with it? F&C Private Equity and Standard Life could be other candidates. I am a bit concerned the discounts are so narrow and I have some fear we are approaching a downturn and private equity discounts widened massively in the 2008 turmoil.

Thanks for any feedback.

tjh290633
Lemon Half

Re: Harbourvest Global Private Equity (HVPE)

Postby tjh290633 » July 10th, 2017, 7:19 pm

You already have a considerable exposure to Private Equity through your holding in FRCL.

Have you thought about that? They hold about 8% as PE.

TJH

Longtermyieldman
Lemon Pip

Postby Longtermyieldman » July 10th, 2017, 8:44 pm

HVPE has performed very well in recent years. However it is heavily weighted toward the US where a combination of a strong Dollar, high company valuations and a very buoyant private equity market might all represent red warning lights.