Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to DrFfybes,smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous, for Donating to support the site

HYITP to beat the FTSE100 for 40 years

Closed-end funds and OEICs
ZipserSir
2 Lemon pips

HYITP to beat the FTSE100 for 40 years

Postby ZipserSir » April 22nd, 2017, 3:50 pm

Hello, I have been asked by a family member for advice about investing £200,000. They have no current particular purpose for the investment or the income. I have been investing in a share based HYP for several years and a HYP is what I will recommend they buy. I don't believe a share based HYP is right for them, so I am interested in constructing a HYP using Investment Trusts only. However, I know very little about which ITs to invest in.

My objectives is to generate a higher yield than the FTSE 100 is currently achieving, which I believe is close to 4%, and to continue to beat the this for the next forty years without tampering. I'm not trying to smash the FTSE yield; just beating it is sufficient, so I hope this de-risks my objective to some extent. I have no preferences for the types of IT to invest in, except they should be available to a UK-based investor buying on the London exchange. I do want to diversify the portfolio, so as not to be dependent on just a couple of holdings; I don't have any view on how many holdings are needed to provide the required diversity.

I really will be interested to read your IT recommendations and allocations.

Thank you, ZipserSir

doug2500
Lemon Slice

Re: HYITP to beat the FTSE100 for 40 years

Postby doug2500 » April 22nd, 2017, 4:41 pm

I've done something similar for my Dad, except yield has not been a primary consideration so I may be wasting my time posting, but FWIW here's what I've bought:

City of London Investment Trust, Blue chip shares
Finsbury Growth & Income Trust , Concentrated portfolio of blue chips
Diverse Income Trust, Smallcap with a bias toward income