Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to DrFfybes,smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous, for Donating to support the site

Between Deputyship and Executorship

including wills and probate
MrCake
Lemon Pip

Between Deputyship and Executorship

Postby MrCake » May 29th, 2017, 11:22 pm

I was a CoP Deputy for a relatives' financial and property affairs. She has now died. I was appointed executor under her will together with a firm of solicitors. They have agreed for me to handle probate, with "power reserved".

Just before my relative died, I agreed to the renewal of a tenancy of her property, but I only received the relevant documents to sign from the managing agents after her death.

I think that I now have no authority to sign these documents until I have been granted probate. Is that correct?

Or am I allowed to sign as a deputy because it is something I agreed whilst I did have deputy powers?

Or is there some kind of pre-executorship method of dealing with pressing matters?

Lootman
The full Lemon

Re: Between Deputyship and Executorship

Postby Lootman » May 29th, 2017, 11:40 pm

I had a big argument with a solicitor about a very similar issue, regarding my mother's estate. I had a POA to act on her behalf, so similar but not exactly the same as your case. And I was the executor of her Will. So I took the view that my ability to act was seamless and continuous. At the point where one power ceased, the other commenced.

And the issue was my ability to rent out my mother's now vacant home. (Although I only made that decision post-mortem).