Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to DrFfybes,smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous, for Donating to support the site

English Will and Scottish Property

including wills and probate
Dyker

English Will and Scottish Property

Postby Dyker » April 21st, 2023, 9:49 am

I am a house owner resident in England and own a second property in Scotland. Can my will made under English law provide for disposal of both properties, or do I need a second will made under Scottish law for the Scottish property? With thanks for any advice,
Dyker

genou
Lemon Quarter

Re: English Will and Scottish Property

Postby genou » April 22nd, 2023, 4:01 pm

Dyker wrote:I am a house owner resident in England and own a second property in Scotland. Can my will made under English law provide for disposal of both properties, or do I need a second will made under Scottish law for the Scottish property? With thanks for any advice,
Dyker

You shouldn't need a second will. Your English will must meet some Scottish standards - so signed on each page if more than one ( but that's the only one I remember). I take it you are domiciled ( rather than merely resident ) in England?

Clitheroekid
Lemon Quarter

Postby Clitheroekid » April 22nd, 2023, 9:44 pm

genou wrote:
Dyker wrote:I am a house owner resident in England and own a second property in Scotland. Can my will made under English law provide for disposal of both properties, or do I need a second will made under Scottish law for the Scottish property? With thanks for any advice,
Dyker

Your English will must meet some Scottish standards - so signed on each page if more than one ( but that's the only one I remember).

No, it doesn't need to confirm to Scottish standards. Scottish law recognises the validity of an English Will provided it's correctly executed under English law.