Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to smokey01,bungeejumper,stockton,Anonymous,bruncher, for Donating to support the site

Disaster

Dave

Disaster

Postby Dave » July 24th, 2023, 9:29 pm

Hi there

I don't think I can be helped in this but my tale may help others to avoid what just happened to me.

My wife and I have two ISAs with Interactive Investor (II) so when I retired work I thought it a good idea to transfer my DC Pension over to a II SIPP.

I wanted to take 25% out tax free first so I took £1,000 out so that I could get a tax code and rang II up to make sure I had gone about it the right way to get some more of my tax free cash.

I am a novice but I did know there was an issue of crystallized and non crystallized but I was told everything was looking fine. The £1000 duly arrived in my account apparently untaxed. So I took out a further £50,000.

That went into my bank account taxed and when I rang II, the advisor said I had taken out the money via a UFPLS payment rather than as a tax free lump sum.

But the previous advisor had not mentioned that and I hadn't turned up any details of the difference ways of receiving payments on the website.

So the private/ state pension that I get between now and the end of the tax year is going to be charged at 40% tax - which is the exact opposite of what I was trying to do.

I'm so disappointed in the level of advice that was available from II though I guess some of you will say that I should have been more careful and better at researching the issue myself

Anyway, telling the story might stop someone else from making the same mistake. And if there is any advice out there about what I can do to resolve the situation, feel free to pass it on.

I did already speak to Interactive Investor and an advisor said they might be able to somehow amend the payment to make it tax free.